Ralph Bell Birding (and wildflower) Extravaganza May 20, 2017

This event is free and open to the public.

Ralph at the AFMO bird banding station on Dolly Sods  (c) Bill Beatty

Begins at 9 am at the Bell Family Farm in Greene County, PA.  Jan and I will be leaders at this event.  It is a wonderful day of outstanding birding and looking at wildflowers as we walk 2.2  miles (round trip) along the road from Ralph’s farm to the bridge across Ten Mile Creek.  After the walk we will gather for a picnic under a spreading Tuliptree in the yard.  Bring your lunch and lawn chairs.  This is the 3rd annual tribute to Ralph who passed away in May, 2014.

All photos (c) Bill Beatty

There will be excellent birders, wildflower experts and professional naturalists on this walk willing to share their expertise.

Location of the Bell Farm on goggle maps: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Pollock+Mill+Rd,+Jefferson,+PA+15344/@39.9465194,-80.0624328,14.75z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x88350bc94580d841:0x923b026c79c214f7!8m2!3d39.9436983!4d-80.0550257

3 thoughts on “Ralph Bell Birding (and wildflower) Extravaganza May 20, 2017

  1. Hi Bill,

    I wanted to pass this along to you. I subscribe to a WV Birding List-serv and this was posted Monday. Of course I thought of you:

    Date: Mon, 1 May 2017 16:03:49 +0000 From: “Fregonara, Jim M” <Jim.M.Fregonara@WV.GOV > Subject: Birds instructor needed for Master Naturalist class

    I am putting out a request for an instructor to teach the “Birds” Master Naturalist class on Saturday, May 13th at the WV DNR office in Elkins. The class is 4 hours long – usually a PowerPoint presentation followed by a bird walk outside the office. A small honorarium may be available. For more information, please email me ASAP. Jim.M.Fregonara@wv.gov Thanks.

    Jim Fregonara WVDNR Wildlife Resources Section Wildife Diversity Unit P.O. Box 67 Elkins, WV 26241 304-637-0245 Jim.M.Fregonara@wv.gov

    I don’t think I can make it to any of your Spring events this year. I have a kayaking/camping trip for early June and between that and my on-call schedule it looks doubtful. This weekend is my own annual Bird walk. I discovered a place near my cabin where Ceruleans breed so you can see as many as 25 of them, often at eye level! This guy came to the first one I had who was raised at the knee of Chan Robbins and is the most amazing birder you’ve never heard of, and likes it that way. Plus he is fun! I immediately deputized him and we do the walk “together” every year. It’s at the Eidolon Nature Preserve in Great Cacapon WV.

    Hope you and Jan are well, and keep those announcements coming!

    Janet

    >

    Like

    • Hi Janet… Right now Jan and I are at Blackwater Falls. The Master Naturalist Bird class in Elkins will be while we are at Magee Marsh. You sound as if you are as busy with fun nature-related activities as we are. I certainly hope we get to see you again at some event. I am taking the bird leaders to Canaan Valley today. The Pilgrimage officially begins tonight. Bill

      Like

    • Hi Janet… I did see the request for a Birds Instructor. Thanks for sharing it with me. You certainly have a lot of ceruleans… are they monitored by any researchers? Jan and I just returned from 8 days at Magee Marsh. Lee (from TA) was with us most of the time. He had the time of his life. Jan and I were birded out by the time we arrived home (yesterday). We were going to bed with the sun and getting up early and birding all day, every day. Still, it was a lot of fun. I hope you are having a good summer… it sounds like you are. It is always nice to hear from you. Bill

      Like

Leave a Reply

